Maine Justice Foundation Leadership

Board of Directors - Executive Committee

H. Lowell Brown, President

Lowell Brown joined the Board of the Foundation in 2012. Lowell is an attorney whose practice focuses on white collar criminal defense and corporate compliance. He was Assistant General Counsel for Compliance at Northrop Grumman Corporation in California for ten years. Prior to joining Northrop, Lowell had been Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Columbia, Assistant General Counsel of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, and a partner in the law firm of Heron, Burchette, Ruckert and Rothwell in Washington, D.C. Since moving to Maine, Lowell has been Counsel to the New York firm of Cadwalader, Wickersham and Taft, and Associate General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer of Sig Sauer. He is a Bar Fellow of the Foundation.

Lowell has been a member of the adjunct faculty of the University of Maine School of Law. He also serves on the board of the Wayfinder Schools, which provides secondary education to at-risk teen parents. He is the author of the books The American Constitutional Tradition and High Crimes and Misdemeanors in Presidential Impeachment.

Janis Cohen (Vice President; Co-Chair, Development Committee)

Janis is a retired attorney, formerly vice-president and managing counsel of the investment lawyers at Unum Group, where her work focused on commercial real estate. In addition to working at Unum, she was in-house counsel at a non-profit educational and social services corporation, served as compliance director for the State of Maine on a right-to-treatment consent decree case, and was in private practice. She spends part of the year in Sarasota, FL, where she had been executive director and president of the board of Pierian Spring Academy, a life-long learning program that merged with Ringling College of Art and Design Life-Long Learning Academy. She served on that board and is now on the board of CenterPlace Health. She has served on a number of boards and commissions in Maine, including the ACLU of Maine, Maine Civil Legal Services Fund Commission, the Justice Action Group, the Maine Turnpike Authority, the Finance Authority of Maine and the Maine Milk Commission. Before going to law school, she worked as a psychologist and a police officer. She is an Honorary Life Fellow of the Foundation.

Jerrol A. Crouter, Treasurer (Chair, Finance Committee)

Drummond Woodsum

Jerry is a member of Drummond Woodsum’s Trial Services Group. Jerry has 30 years’ experience as a civil trial attorney in both federal and state courts, including employment, commercial and construction litigation. He has extensive experience as a mediator and arbitrator. He regularly appears on behalf of public utilities and interested parties in water, electric, and gas proceedings before the Maine Public Utilities Commission. Jerry was named by Best Lawyers in America as Maine’s 2010 “Lawyer of the Year” in the category of Alternative Dispute Resolution, the first year the award was given. In addition, he has served as an adjunct Professor of Law at the University of Maine School of Law. Jerry received his JD from George Washington School of Law. He joined the Foundation’s Board in January 2019.He is an Honorary Life Fellow of the Foundation.

William Harwood, Immediate Past President


A graduate of Harvard University (B.A., 1974) and Fordham University School of Law (J.D., 1978), Bill has been a partner at Verrill since 1984. He has devoted most of his 38-year career to representing public utilities before state and federal regulatory agencies. He has represented electric, gas, water and telecommunications companies in more than 50 major cases before the Maine Public Utilities Commission and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Bill has served as a pro bono attorney in civil cases for hundreds of low-income Mainers. He received the 1991 “Outstanding Victim Advocacy Award” from Family Crisis Services for his pro bono representation of victims of domestic violence; the 1994 “Howard H. Dana, Jr Award” from the Maine Justice Foundation; and, in 1999, the Pro Bono Publico Award from the American Bar Association. From 1986 – 1993, Bill served on the Board of the Maine Justice Foundation (then the Maine Bar Foundation). He played a key role, as President, in implementing recommendations from Senator Muskie’s Maine Commission on Legal Needs. Bill helped found the Muskie Fund for Legal Services, Justice Action Group, Frank M. Coffin Family Law Fellowships and the Bar Fellows. He is an Honorary Life Fellow of the Foundation.

Katherine Tierney (Chair, Governance Committee)

Katherine (Kate) Tierney is a graduate of the University of Oregon and the University Of Maine School Of Law. She is an Assistant Attorney General in the Natural Resources Division of the Office of the Attorney General. Prior to joining the Natural Resources Division, Kate was an Assistant District Attorney in Cumberland County. For over ten years she served in the domestic violence unit, prosecuting crimes involving family violence. In that capacity she was a participating member of the Violence Intervention Program, and she served on a state task force that explored the use of technology to prevent domestic violence. She lives in Yarmouth with her husband and two children. She is a Bar Fellow of the Foundation.

Michelle Giard Draeger, Secretary

Michelle is responsible for overall management of MJF in order to maximize resources that support access to civil justice, including legal aid, pro bono legal services, and related law education.

Michelle Giard Draeger became the fifth Executive Director of the Foundation in May, 2020. A native of Maine, Ms. Draeger graduated from the University of Maine, School of Law. She began her legal career as a staff attorney at Pine Tree Legal Services, focusing on cases involving domestic violence.  Ms. Draeger then entered private practice at a litigation firm in Portland before moving to Washington, DC to join the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s Division of Enforcement where she worked for two years and then in the Commission’s Boston office for six years as a Senior Enforcement Counsel.  Upon Ms. Draeger's return to Maine with her family, she served as an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Maine and later as an in-house counsel and compliance professional for a large healthcare entity.

Ms. Draeger has served on the Board of Trustees of the Falmouth Land Trust and has also served as Vice President and Chair of the Development Committee. Ms. Draeger was a member of the inaugural class of the New Girls Network and later served on the boards of the Maine Women’s Fund and the Maine Humanities Council.

Ms. Draeger is delighted to live, work and raise her two daughters in her native state of Maine with her husband, Scot and their best pal, Maple - their Vizsla.

Board Members

Albert G. Ayre
Ainsworth Thelin & Raftice

Frank Bishop, Jr., Ex Officio
Hudson Cook, LLP

Mary Kathryn Brennan
Brennan & Rogers, PLLC

H. Lowell Brown, President

Grady R. Burns
Drummond Woodsum

Rep. Barbara Cardone
Gross, Minsky & Mogul, P.A.

Janis Cohen, Vice President

Jerroll A. Crouter, Treasurer
Drummond Woodsum

Virginia E. Davis

Thaddeus V. Day, Ex Officio
Law Offices of Thaddeus Day, PLLC

Susan A. Faunce
Berman & Simmons

William Harwood, Immediate Past President

Stephen P. Hyde

Kenneth W. Lehman
Bernstein Shur

Kelly W. McDonald, Ex Officio
Murray, Plumb and Murray

Timothy Pease
Versant Power

Gerald F. Petruccelli
Petruccelli, Martin & Haddow, LLP

Ronald Phillips

Camrin Rivera
University of Maine School of Law student representative

Robin Russel
School of Social Work, University of Maine Orono

Justice Warren M. Silver (Retired)

Katherine Tierney
State of Maine

Anna Astvatsaturian Turcotte
Androscoggin Bank

Judith A. Fletcher Woodbury